top of page
Search

Holiday season is soon approaching 

My most favorite time of year, the holiday season. It’s just something about the harvest and winter seasons that bring me a great feeling of Joy. Growing up, as a young inquisitive and proud little girl, I was surrounded by my elders. In particular, my grandmother. G’Mthr was a magician, or so I thought. For me it really felt like magic happening as a young girl. Her house always felt like love if you could understand love, but it was like the magnitude of love magnified! Warm, spice smell of candles lit, fireplace ablaze, and maybe a pot of chili prepared and simmering on the stove. It just made me embrace the moment.

Soon after, Christmas approaches. Our family greatest tradition, Christmas Eve celebration over to G’Mthrs. We would do a secret gift exchange at thanksgiving, and bring them on Christmas Eve. Enjoying some good cooked food. Afterwards, we begin our Christmas carols. Oh what a Joy! Some singing in tune, G’Mthr out of tune, myself, no tune.-Lol! It didn’t matter at all because we were all there for love and celebration. That feeling of peace, love, joy, all embraced as a family with no worries of the moment of the stresses of life. Our family welcomed all into our home and celebration. We would see old friends, new friends, and friends friends all wanting to come enjoy the love of family that we share.

One thing I learned was to love everyone. To help as many people as I can. To know, not all have the support and love from family or anyone and that is a blessing to share with others. The lessons I was taught also was to trust God and never give up. When life brings pain, sadness, and hurt to go in harder and give it all I have.

My elders, even when I was around, they wouldn’t talk about the problems they were facing. I didn’t know the struggles that my mom and G’Mthr went through just to pay the bills and keep a roof over our heads. I grew up with love and that God is love. As an adult, having challenges of the very thing my family endured, I had to learn quick how to make it out here in this world. Making it by being responsible, keeping a roof over my family heads. Helping others and so forth.

I’m so grateful for the love that I hold in my heart that has been shown as a child. Now, being able to extend my love to others, I’m reminded of the holiday seasons. I’m reminded the joy it brings to be embraced by love and sharing it. The smells of love remind me of the chili on G’Mthrs stove, the burning candles and the singing.

This holiday season, I encourage you to find something that bring you joy. Embrace the warmth of peace, love and joy. Share your love with others.

Love

Maxine

-I’m proud to say please check out my Op-Ed published Nov. 4th, 2015 in The Hill news. Thank you. http://thehill.com/blogs/congress-blog/economy-budget/259011-congress-must-act-now-to-save-pro-work-tax-provisions

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Don’t Miss Your Opportunity to be a Friend”

This is so dear to me because, often times, those we encounter come across our paths for a reason. That person may not look like us, talk like us, or even operate like us. We are placed in territories

Who Lives In Poverty

All those who make less than the Federal government’s official poverty threshold. . . which for a family of four is $23,834.00. People working at minimum wage, even holding down several jobs. Seniors

Find Something to Celebrate

I HOPE YOU ALL WILL HAVE A GRAND WEEKEND AND FIND SOMETHING TO CELEBRATE. I THINK I WILL ON PURPOSE. LIFE HAS IT WAYS OF KEEPING US DISTRACTED FROM THE THINGS THAT GIVES US JOY. WHETHER ITS STRESSING

bottom of page